America is obviously not in want of food. Most adults, and too many children, are overweight or obese and there are restaurants, drive thru windows, and vending machines on every street and in every mall. However, there is a serious shortage of real food in this country.

 

I had this brilliant revelation while sitting at my desk this morning wrestling with a serious sweet tooth craving. I went to the kitchen to get a cup of tea and considered putting some sugar in it to quell my craving. After filling my mug with tea I realize that the only “sugar” there is in the office pantry is actually splenda, and the only cream is non-dairy creamer. What in the world is going on here? What exactly is non-dairy cream? Isn’t cream a dairy product? Like from cows? It’s not soymilk (which is delicious), it’s not rice milk, I have no idea what is in that little round plastic container. Same with artificial sugar really, I’ll admit to having a Diet Coke addiction but I also recognize that it’s not food and definitely not good for me.

So many things we eat are like this. The box of popcorn snacks we have in the kitchen at home, I read the label last night and was forced to question if half of those ingredients are really edible.

I promise I’m not ranting and insisting that all the fast food restaurants be burned down and that eating anything but organic is a sin. But think about what you’re eating every now and then.  Did you ever wonder what kind of cow produces neon orange milk to make the easy mac cheese?

 

Just like they taught you in science class, if you don’t know what it is you probably shouldn’t put it in your mouth.

 

Just a thought as I sit here drinking my plain tea…

 

Oh! and I have a big baking project planned this weekend. Stay tuned!





Jay
6/19/2009 03:08:34 pm

YAYYYAYAYAYAYAYAY :)
You two are just too cute. Not to mention your little green friend!

Reply



Leave a Reply.