Picture

The Nutella crepe will always have great sentimental value to me and the Mr. Once upon a time, when things in life were not going so well for me, and the Mr. was not yet the Mr. but just a good friend, he took me on a surprise trip to the beach in the middle of the night.  At the beach, we went to the most amazing little cafe and ate big, light, crepes filled with luxurious Nutella. Eating those crepes and walking on the sand with him seemed to make all the bad things in my life a little easier to manage.  

I've had the intention of recreating that meal for quite a while. I buy Nutella (more like rationalize buying Nutella "Oh I'll make crepes!"), and somehow it's all gone by the time I get around to making it into a meal (whoops!).

But this time I had great sucess! I got up on Sunday and made the Mr. promise to not come look in the kitchen while I was cooking. When I brought the plates out the sentimental look on his face was priceless, and we sat there on Sunday morning eating breakfast and remembering the beach from so long ago.

Click Read More for instructions on how to make this!

Picture

Nutella Crepes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
    Nutella or other fillings (I also made some with raspberry jam and some with sour cream filings)
  • Powdered sugar for garnish
  • Cooking spray or butter for the pan
  • 1. Mix all the wet ingredients (eggs, milk, water, and melted butter) in a bowl.

    2. Mix the dry ingredients (flour, salt, sugar and baking powder) in a large bowl.

    3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir to a smooth batter.

    4. Heat a small frying pan and spray with cooking spray or add butter.  Pour 1/4 cup (use a measuring spoon!) of batter into the pan and quickly tilt the pan to cover the surface.  Wait untill the bottom of the crepe is cooked then use a spatula to flip the crepe. When the other side is cooked remove the crepe to a plate and repeat the process with the remaining batter.

    5. Spread your filling of choice (use nutella, you won't be sorry!) on one side of the crepe then fold or roll.  Sprinkle the tops with powdered sugar and en




    Leave a Reply.