Next stop on The Great LA Cupcake Map was Jamaica’s Cakes, also on Pico Blvd.

Erika, the salesperson, was also very friendly and knowledgeable and told me a lot about their company. Jamaica Crist opened the bakery 4 years ago in December.  Their main business comes from custom orders but they also operate a full store front with a beautiful display case of fresh pastries. Something that makes them unique from their competition is that all of their cakes are fresh and never frozen, and also they have a wide range of delicious vegan products in addition to non vegan fare. In my experience, most bakeries are either exclusively vegan, offer no vegan products, or offer a small range of vegan products that are not as delicious as their standard offerings. Jamaica’s Cakes is an exception.

Here is a picture of the vegan red velvet cupcake I had. 
Picture
It was fantastic. The cake was fresh and moist and not overly saturated with red food coloring. The frosting was rich and smooth and did not overpower the flavor of the cake. If I didn’t know it was vegan I would have never guessed. It was rich, moist, delicious, and had no strange taste or aftertaste.  As a former vegan, I know how difficult vegan baking can be, and this was fantastic by anyone’s standards. I would love to sample more from both their vegan and non-vegan menus another day. Jamaica’s Cakes specializes in custom and wedding cakes that can be made vegan upon request.  The sample cakes that adorned the store were beautiful and showed off the craftsmanship of the decorators. 

 

Jamaica herself was not in when I visited but I would love to meet with her and talk about how she started this amazing bakery.  She did an excellent job training her staff because Erika was able to give me a lot of good information about their business.

 

Check out Jamaica’s Cakes! I highly recommend them!

 

Jamaica’s Cakes

11511 W. Pico Blvd.

Los Angeles CA 90064

www.Jamaicascakes.com

[email protected]
Meredith
9/22/2009 09:20:19 am

These are adorable! I only with I could've been there :D

Reply



Leave a Reply.